STC OBA NSW – New Committee 2013/14

Published: May 20, 2014
The Annual General Meeting of S. Thomas’ College OBA NSW was held on Sunday 3rd November 2013 at the Wexford Room Castle Grand Castle Hill.

Eksath Perera was re-appointed President for another year. Richie de Silva and Gimantha Jayasinghe were appointed Vice Presidents, Ramesh Abayasekara will take over the key post of Secretary and Rex Ratnam will be the Treasurer. 

In his annual report Eksath highlighted the major events undertaken during the past year. He thanked the team for their unstinted support in achieving success at every event, The Thomian Carol Service in Nov 2012, Royal Thomian Cricket matches in March and Setember 2013, The main event ‘Blue Black & Blue Ball 2013, Thomian Family Night and Bar nights were the high lights.
Proposing a vote of thanks Eksath applauded each member highlighting their individual contribution and dedication that enabled the OBA to function as a team. Thanking the outgoing members, Chandra Wirasinha, Chris Piachaud, Gopinath Sathiacama, Rajiv Chinnaiah, Charith Jayasundera and Pulasthi Samaraweera,  individually for their unique effort and contribution  he congratulated the new committee members and pledged  to continue to maintain the traditions and high standards built over the years and to keep an open mind to meet new opportunities and challenges of the future.

Milroy Berenger, The Editor of the Thomian Dance souvenir a senior Thomian member,  in his speech reminded the members of the beginnings and the way the OBA has grown in strength and character over the years. Whilst commending the work done by the outgoing committee he was confident that the structure in place is well founded to reach all members of the OBA into the future to face the challenges ahead. 

The AGM was well attended comprising a cross section of all ages of Thomians. There was a time for open discussion where fresh ideas were put forward and interesting valuable comments made which will be taken on board by the new committee.

The evening concluded with a time of warm fellowship dinner and energetic singing of the College song.


STC OBA NSW – Committee   20113/14

Eksath Perera – President    
Richie de Silva – Vice President    
Gimantha Jayasinghe- Vice President    
Ramesh Abayasekara – Secretary
Rex Ratnam – Treasurer    
Kumar Rasiah     
Duke Ramachandran
Senaka Jayasuriya
Damika Wickramasinghe 
Shaan Ching 
Bob Praba Subramaniam
Shamilal Wijeyawardane 
Tissa Mohitti – Hon Auditor 


Esto perpetual 
Ramesh Abayasekara
Secretary,  STCOBANSW